G/SG/N/10/IDN/30/Suppl.1 G/SG/N/11/IDN/26

16 December 2021

Original: English

Page: 1/3

Committee on Safeguards

NOTIFICATION PURSUANT TO ARTICLE 12.1(C) OF THE AGREEMENT ON SAFEGUARDS

NOTIFICATION PURSUANT TO ARTICLE 9, FOOTNOTE 2 OF THE AGREEMENT ON SAFEGUARDS

INDONESIA

Expansible Polystyrene in the Form of Granule

The following communication, dated and received on 16 December 2021, is being circulated at the request of the delegation of Indonesia.

Pursuant to Articles 12.1(c) of the WTO Agreement on Safeguards, the Government of the Republic of Indonesia hereby notifies the issuance of Minister of Finance's Regulation Number 174/PMK.010/2021 dated 2 December 2021, promulgated in the Official Gazette of the Republic of Indonesia Number 1321 on 3 December 2021, regarding the imposition of safeguard measures on the importation of expansible polystyrene (EPS) in the form of granule, for a period of 3 years and will come into effect on 24 December 2021. The Minister of Finance's Regulation Number 174/PMK.010/2021 can be found on the website of the Indonesian Safeguard Committee: www.kppi.kemendag.go.id.

1. GENERAL BACKGROUND

On 8 April 2021, the Republic of Indonesia notified the findings of safeguard investigation in which it was concluded that there was an evidence that the increased of volume of imports have caused a serious injury to the domestic industry concerned in this investigation (G/SG/N/8/IDN/30 - G/SG/N/10/IDN/30).

It was also indicated in the notification that the Investigating Authority was proposing to the Government of the Republic of Indonesia the imposition of safeguard measures on the importation of the subject goods.

2. DESCRIPTION OF THE SUBJECT GOODS

The description of the subject goods are as follows:

Expansible Polystyrene in the form of granule under Harmonized System (HS.) code 3903.11.10.

3. DESCRIPTION OF THE PROPOSED MEASURE

a. The Government of the Republic of Indonesia has decided to impose the following safeguard duty:



(21-9430)

- 2 -

TIMETABLE OF THE SAFEGUARD DUTY

| Period | Specific Duty (Rupiah/Ton) |
|---|----------------------------|
| First Year (24 December 2021 – 23 December 2022) | 2,452,711 |
| Second Year (24 December 2022 – 23 December 2023) | 2,428,184 |
| Third Year (24 December 2023 – 23 December 2024) | 2,403,902 |

LIST OF MAJOR EXPORTING MEMBERS OF IMPORTS OF THE PRODUCT INVOLVED

The information of the major exporting members of the subject goods are the same as stated on document G/SG/N/8/IDN/30 - G/SG/N/10/IDN/30.

According to article 9.1 of the WTO Agreement on Safeguards, developing country Members with less than 3% import share collectively account for not more than 9% of total imports of the subject goods are excluded from the safeguard measures.

Below is the list of developing countries excluded from the said safeguard measures. The Government of the Republic of Indonesia reserves the right to amend the list in relation to changes in the volume of imports exceeding 3%.

LIST OF DEVELOPING COUNTRIES EXCLUDED FROM THE MEASURES

| No. | Countries | No. | Countries |
|-----|----------------------------------|-----|----------------------------------|
| 1. | Afghanistan | 36. | Eswatini |
| 2. | Albania | 37. | Fiji |
| 3. | Angola | 38. | Gabon |
| 4. | Antigua and Barbuda | 39. | The Gambia |
| 5. | Argentina | 40. | Georgia |
| 6. | Armenia | 41. | Ghana |
| 7. | Bahrain, Kingdom of | 42. | Grenada |
| 8. | Bangladesh | 43. | Guatemala |
| 9. | Barbados | 44. | Guinea |
| 10. | Belize | 45. | Guinea-Bissau |
| 11. | Benin | 46. | Guyana |
| 12. | Bolivia, Plurinational State of | 47. | Haiti |
| 13. | Botswana | 48. | Honduras |
| 14. | Brazil | 49. | Hong Kong, China |
| 15. | Brunei Darussalam | 50. | Israel |
| 16. | Burkina Faso | 51. | Jamaica |
| 17. | Burundi | 52. | Jordan |
| 18. | Cabo Verde | 53. | Kazakhstan |
| 19. | Cambodia | 54. | Kenya |
| 20. | Cameroon | 55. | Kuwait, the State of |
| 21. | Central African Republic | 56. | Kyrgyz Republic |
| 22. | Chad | 57. | Lao People's Democratic Republic |
| 23. | Chile | 58. | Lesotho |
| 24. | Colombia | 59. | Liberia |
| 25. | Congo | 60. | Liechtenstein |
| 26. | Costa Rica | 61. | Macao, China |
| 27. | Cote d'Ivoire | 62. | Madagascar |
| 28. | Cuba | 63. | Malawi |
| 29. | Democratic Republic of the Congo | 64. | Malaysia |
| 30. | Djibouti | 65. | Maldives |

| - 3 - |
|-------|
|-------|

| No. | Countries | No. | Countries |
|-----|--------------------------------|------|--|
| 31. | Dominica | 66. | Mali |
| 32. | Dominican Republic | 67. | Mauritania |
| 33. | Ecuador | 68. | Mauritius |
| 34. | Egypt | 69. | Mexico |
| 35. | El Salvador | 70. | Moldova, Republic of |
| 71. | Mongolia | 96. | Senegal |
| 72. | Montenegro | 97. | Seychelles |
| 73. | Могоссо | 98. | Sierra Leone |
| 74. | Mozambique | 99. | Singapore |
| 75. | Myanmar | 100. | Solomon Islands |
| 76. | Namibia | 101. | South Africa |
| 77. | Nepal | 102. | Sri Lanka |
| 78. | Nicaragua | 103. | Suriname |
| 79. | Niger | 104. | Tajikistan |
| 80. | Nigeria | 105. | Tanzania |
| 81. | Oman | 106. | The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) / North Macedonia |
| 82. | Pakistan | 107. | Тодо |
| 83. | Panama | 108. | Tonga |
| 84. | Papua New Guinea | 109. | Trinidad and Tobago |
| 85. | Paraguay | 110. | Tunisia |
| 86. | Peru | 111. | Turkey |
| 87. | Philippines | 112. | Uganda |
| 88. | Qatar | 113. | Ukraine |
| 89. | Russian Federation | 114. | United Arab Emirates |
| 90. | Rwanda | 115. | Uruguay |
| 91. | Saint Kitts and Nevis | 116. | Vanuatu |
| 92. | Saint Lucia | 117. | Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of |
| 93. | Saint Vincent & the Grenadines | 118. | Yemen |
| 94. | Samoa | 119. | Zambia |
| 95. | Saudi Arabia, Kingdom of | 120. | Zimbabwe |